Academic Senate of Hawai’i Community College

            Friday, January 29, 2010            

Bldg. 388, Rm 103 (lower campus) & polycom to West HI Admin.

Conf. Rm. 12 - 1:30 pm



1.         Report—Chancellor Freitas—time certain, 12:00


2.         Ascertain Quorum


3.         Approve Minutes of Nov. 13, 2009 and Special Curriculum meeting, Dec. 4, 2009


4.         Chair’s Report – Eric Mecklenburg, Vice Chair, for Ellen Okuma


5.         Standing and Other Committee Reports

            a.         Ed Policy – Joyce Hamasaki

            b.         Faculty Policy – Roberta Brashear-Kaulfers

            c.         Curriculum Review  -- Helen Nishimoto 

            d.         ad hoc Committee, Writing Intensive – Donna Moore  

            e.         ad hoc Academic Senate Committee to Review HawCC’s Standard eCAFE QuestionsKalani Flores


6.         New Business

            a.         Senate endorsement of draft Memorandum of Agreement: Transfer of General Education Core Requirements Eric Mecklenburg, Vice Chair

            b.         Faculty Policy Committee resolution on proposed Faculty Mentoring Faculty Program-- Roberta Brashear-Kaulfers

            c.         Leeward CC Faculty Senate resolution-- Eric Mecklenburg, Vice Chair

            d.         HawCC Faculty and Instructional Staff Statement on Professional Standards and Ethics (2005) and UHCCP 5.211, Statement on Professional Ethics (2006)-- Eric Mecklenburg, Vice Chair     


7.         For the good of the order


8.         Adjourn


Next meeting: February 26, 2010, 12:00-1:30 p.m., Bldg. 388, Rm 103 (lower campus) & polycom to West HI Admin. Conf. Rm. (VCAA to attend)